The Pinterest Kitchen is Now Open

I like to bake. I am known to get the urge to bake late at night and follow through with it. That means making cookies, brownies, etc. at 10 pm or later.

I also like Pinterest. I’m not a total Pinterest nut but I do like it. They have cute and delicious ideas. The main reason I like it is because you get to share awesome things that you find on the internet or you get to look at other great things other people have found.

Alas, who has enough time to make or use all of their pins but I have successfully made a few things. This one is probably my favorite. Martin repeatedly wants me to make them and they really aren’t hard. A perfect Saturday morning breakfast. The writer calls them Cinnamon Chip Applesauce Muffins. She also simply calls the recipe “the delicious muffin recipe” and it couldn’t be more accurate.

The original recipe is found here.

The original recipe can be made to make a 13″x9″ cake or 24 muffins. I usually only make half to save ingredients.

This is the way I make them:

The Recipe:

1/2 stick of butter softened

1/2 cp. sugar

1 large egg

1/4 tsp. vanilla

2/3 cp. natural applesauce

1 1/4 cp. flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 10 oz package of Hershey’s Cinnamon Chip (Found next to the chocolate chips in the grocery store)

Glaze:

1/3 cp. powdered sugar

1 tsp. milk

splash of vanilla

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease muffin tin.

Mix the butter and sugar until blended. Add eggs, applesauce, and vanilla. In another bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients a little at a time until well mixed. Add the cinnamon chips. Once combined, spoon into the muffin tin filling each cup about 2/3 of the way full.

Bake for 10-15 minutes.

Make the glaze and smother the muffins.

005 011

If you want to see other desserts I’m dreaming about making or other things that tickle my fancy, you can follow my boards here.

Leave a Reply

