The Best Pancake Recipe from the Internet

I ate these for breakfast this morning and was reminded how good they are.

I started looking for homemade pancake recipes one Saturday morning (don’t Saturday mornings scream for pancakes) when I was out of bisquick, poor, and too lazy to go to the store. I brainstormed that “Hey! I probably have all the ingredients I need to make pancakes from scratch!” because I had recently baked something (maybe it was the Cinnamon Chip Muffins) so I had plenty of supplies on hand. I then perused the internet and landed on this recipe. I would like to say I slaved away making hundreds of pancakes and this is the best pancake recipe to be found in the internet, but I did not.

I had two criteria to meet: 1: I already had the ingredients 2: The reviews said it was delicious. This recipe met both criteria.

I made them and MAN O’ MAN! THESE PANCAKES OUT SHINE BISQUIK ANY DAY AND MAYBE EVER OTHER PANCAKE RECIPE EVER.

I have nothing against bisquik (it’s convenient and delicious) but these pancakes were fluffy and buttery and wonderful. They might be, no, were the best at home pancakes I had ever made and frankly were better than some restaurants. Yeah, it takes a few more things to measure but its really not much more time consuming than bisquik anyway.

The sad thing is that I felt like a pioneer. I had just made a delicious food item from scratch (I have made other things from scratch before but I had planned those out. This was a spur of the moment decision). Sometimes, we forget in our world of processed and boxed foods that with just a little more time, the end result can be even more delicious and fulfilling and inexpensive.

Needless to say, I have never bought another box of bisquik again. Without farther adieu, here is the recipe:

1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon of salt

1 tablespoon of white sugar

1 1 /4 cup of milk

1 egg

3 tablespoons of butter, melted

Combine the dry ingredients and make a well in the center. Then pour in the wet ingredients. Stir or whisk the ingredients together till combined.

Heat a lightly oiled skillet or griddle to medium high heat and pour the desired sized pancakes onto the surface. Once bubbling, flip over. Once both sides are lightly browned and the middle is done, remove from skillet/griddle.

Top with desired toppings and ENJOY!

I usually can get about 12 smedium sized pancakes out of this recipe (I am unsure of what technically differentiates between small, medium, and large pancakes).

The original recipe can be found here.

Leave a Reply

