DIY Weekend

Yesterday, Martin and I rearranged our living room. We were inspired by my homemade blueberry muffins, the warmer weather, and Martin’s need to make room for his new studio equipment. We live in a one bedroom apartment so the living room has many functions that now includes a recording studio. We moved the place where we usually keep the dog’s leash and other knick knacks. I felt like I had to travel too far to get the pup’s lease so I decided we needed a coat rack. We had tried the 3M hooks without much luck and we had a bunch of pallet wood lying around. Plus, I thought to buy one would be just as expensive as making one. So instead of going to church, I went to the home improvement store and bought supplies. Here is the finished product.

2015/01/img_1005-1.jpg
I had:
Pallet wood
Saw
Drill
Sawtooth picture hangers

I bought:
A sample of paint (I choose a minty blue)
Three hooks
A medium grit sandpaper block
A paint brush

Then I went home and got to work. I cut the board to 18″. I chose to leave the sides not completely straight. I sanded it. Then, painted the front and four sides; I didn’t bother with the back. I went to dinner and let it dry. I figured out where I wanted the hooks and pre-drilled holes. Then, I screwed the hooks in. I used a smaller screw then what came with the hooks because the other ones were too long. Use what works best for you. Finally, I nailed in the picture hangers on the back and put it on the wall. Super easy and it didn’t take too long at all. What did you do this weekend?

2015/01/img_1004.jpg

Leave a Reply

